Customer Comments

1st time at a hotel in an old haunt
I\'ll come straight out and say i didn\'t like the decor! Personal taste - what can you do. Other than that very comfortable and clean room with a lovely view over harbour and hills. I didn\'t have supper but had breakfast of smoked salmon and scrambled eggs (thank you for that) it was spot on. Owner and staff very friendly and relaxed. I recommend.

jamie charteris - 27th May, 2017
Verified Review

Fantastic wee bar and hotel
Fantastic wee bar and hotel - basic but clean and bright rooms, good food, good local ales, completely dog friendly, reliable wifi, hearty breakfast, all staff friendly and helpful, free parking, live music many nights of week, great price. We\'ve been several times over the years. Just could not ask for more.

Mr. Neil Stevenson - 23rd May, 2017
Verified Review

Enjoyable stay
Friendly staff, good food,comfortable room.

Anthony Spiller - 20th May, 2017
Verified Review

Great views
Clean friendly hotel. Great food in bar and live music when we were there

Lesley Hunter - 15th May, 2017
Verified Review

Nice spot to stay in Ullapool
Room 8 had stunning view of Loch Broom. Had a nice dinner there also.

Vic Hepburn - 9th May, 2017
Verified Review

NC500
Booked a quad room, room was well priced, breakfast was well worth the money. The overnight stay at this hotel simply met our requirements and the staff was very friendly.

Brian Kennedy - 5th May, 2017
Verified Review

First visit to Ullapool
Had a lovely stay at hotel. Staff were very friendly & helpful. Breakfast excellent. Felt our room was slightly cramped.

William Carroll - 28th April, 2017
Verified Review

Perfect
Wow! We wished we could stay longer. It was such a wonderfull room and house. The location is perfect and serene. Dinner was lovely. And however I had a terrible back pain I slept like an angel in the soft bed.
I felt like a lady of the house being well served and friendly staff. All in all a perfect stay.

Helma Peeters - 24th April, 2017
Verified Review

April 2017 stay at Argyll Hotel
Very spacious family room, lovely comfortable beds. Great for two adults and two children. Lovely views over Loch Broom. Nice en suite shower room and we had a nice breakfast. Would recommend. In the centre of Ullapool. The bar was also really cosy and inviting.

Mrs Gordon - 19th April, 2017
Verified Review

Amazing view
Room was comfortable and clean with amazing view. Lovely big soft bath towels, but pillows were a weird shape. Staff were friendly, but seemed a bit disorganised. Enjoyed the evening entertainment, but a bit disappointed with restaurant choice.

Mrs. Jane Lilley - 17th April, 2017
Verified Review

Argyll Hotel
What a warm welcome we received from the owners of The Argyll Hotel. Would recommend a few \"drams\" in the bar & their dinner menu.
1st class stay and an excellent nights sleep

paul ingleheart - 19th March, 2017
Verified Review

an other great stay
we have stayed in the Argyrll Hotel before and as the same as the last time we had a good stay
The staff are all freindly and its a great place to take the dog!

Rona Dorman - 23rd January, 2017
Verified Review

Friendly and cosy
My boyfriend and I stayed here the night before catching the ferry to Stornoway. The hotel was great value for money, the staff were friendly and approachable, and the beds very comfy. The bar is very cosy too, with a real coal fire. Perfect for a wee nightcap on a dark winter night!

Rosalind Sampson - 25th December, 2016
Verified Review

overnight stop
Onward stop for ferry in twin room with shared bathroom which was first-class. Accomodation only required. Very comfortable and warm hotel. Bar meal excellent. Staff excellent.
Good bar with good open fire.Will stay again.

Mr. Gregor Smith - 4th December, 2016
Verified Review

overnight stop
Onward stop for ferry in twin room with shared bathroom which was first-class. Accomodation only required. Very comfortable and warm hotel. Bar meal excellent. Staff excellent.
Good bar with good open fire.Will stay again.

Mr. Gregor Smith - 4th December, 2016
Verified Review

.
An enjoyable and comfortable stay overall. Friendly, helpful staff. Dinner menu very plain. Tried to submit this earlier by android \'phone but was unable to select or submit a start rating. This coming per PC. Regards.

Mr. Harry Spiers - 14th November, 2016
Verified Review

Weekend break
Excellent staff,fine hotel

Paul Galloway - 14th November, 2016
Verified Review

a night in Ullapool
Very nice stay, spacious clean rooms, nice shower and excellent food, served with a smile.

Mr. David Lamont - 2nd November, 2016
Verified Review

a night in Ullapool
Very nice stay, spacious clean rooms, nice shower and excellent food, served with a smile.

Mr. David Lamont - 2nd November, 2016
Verified Review

Welcoming, cozy stay with stunning views
This was one of the most pleasant places we stayed in during our highland trip. The view over the bay was stunning, and the room, though small, was cosy and welcoming. Details on how it was decorated added to its character - my mum became a fan of your tweed curtains and pillows. The shower worked well and we were pleasantly surprised to find all the toiletries were of high quality, made with Scottish sea kelp. Another detail was the offer of teas besides the usual \"English breakfast\", especially the green tea which was perfect to soothe my mum\'s stomach after a big fish and chips dinner! The Borders cookies were also a delicious bonus.
In the morning, rushing to get the bus to Inverness, I forgot to hand in the room keys and only realised it when I was already in Inverness and got a call hours later. The staff was very understanding and allowed me to post them back, which was a big relief. Thank you!

Joana Nascimento - 1st November, 2016
Verified Review

Pleasant stay
Lovely views and freindly staff. This is our 6th stay at the hotel. Quieter in evenings but anderstand proprietors were on holiday so little entertainment. Good food quality.

Mr. Steven Webster - 31st October, 2016
Verified Review

Nice
Lovely Hotel - welcoming staff, cozy firelace in the pub, comfiest bed on my trip. - great breakfast.

Ross Dalgetty - 28th October, 2016
Verified Review

lovely
we really enjoyed our stay and the room was very thoroughly clean!

Alannah-jayne Simpson - 10th October, 2016
Verified Review

Excellent place to stay
We really enjoyed our stay. The bed was very comfortable. The bath and shower were excellent. The food was very good (the best macaroni cheese I have tasted and the breakfast was lovely). We are both vegetarians and were very well catered for. There was a good selection of beers and whiskies. The view from the room looking over the harbour, loch and mountains was amazing. The staff were very friendly and helpful. We will certainly return.

Keith Brown - 7th October, 2016
Verified Review

very friendly and a great vibe
I was greeter warmly by the owners and shown my room when it was ready, I had arrived a little early. The room was very comfortable. bed was huge, bathroom had a tub and plenty of tea and coffee in the room.

I ate in the pub downstairs the first night and ordered a vegetarian dish of falafel burger. it was extremely good. the bat staff couldn\'t have been nicer. In the evening, the pub is very popular, as I believe it stays open the latest.

Monday was a folk song jam session and it was just charming!

the only slight issue that keeps this from 5 star is the weak water pressure. but, hey, not there for luxury showers, are we?

Anna Petersen - 6th October, 2016
Verified Review

Charming hotel but unsuitable for anyone with mobility problems.
Charming hotel with beautiful views over the harbour. Friendly staff and good food. Unfortunately the hotel is not suitable for anyone with mobility problems or a disability. No walk in shower cubicle and steep stair acess to rooms.

Jean Gladman - 29th September, 2016
Verified Review

Brilliant
Nice hotel, lovely staff, very good dinner and perfect location.
We saw one seal from the hotel window :)

Gabriella Hopka-Varga - 3rd September, 2016
Verified Review

Schottlandreise
Perfekt location, rooms clean, personal very friendly

Burkhard Kirch - 19th August, 2016
Verified Review

Excellent hotel
First time in Ullapool, could not have picked a better hotel. Would recommend it to anyone.

Steven Smith - 19th August, 2016
Verified Review

Happy
We enjoyed our stay and we were well looked after the food was excellent the staff very friendly and helpful thank you

John Horton - 23rd July, 2016
Verified Review

Jolie vue
Séjour agréable dans une chambre propre dotée d\'une jolie vue.

Marie-Christine MARIN - 13th July, 2016
Verified Review

Enjoyable Stay
Friendly Staff and enjoyable stay

Charles Smith - 13th July, 2016
Verified Review

Room 14
Excellent!
Incredible view.
Delightful staff.
Live music in a variety of genres.
Quality restaurant.
Modern bathroom.
Parking on site.

Regina Boyd - 29th June, 2016
Verified Review

Argyll Hotel Ullapool
Great hotel in a great town, loved every minute

Rob Witcutt - 28th June, 2016
Verified Review

Another great stay at the Argyll Hotel.
We have stayed at this great hotel on a number of occasions, once again we were not disappointed. The staff are very welcoming and nothing is a bother to them. Lovely comfortable rooms - good service from the owners and staff alike and very good food. We will be back again!!!

John & Ann Lloyd - 25th June, 2016
Verified Review

Motorcycle tour
Friendly helpful staff , good food , safe parking for bikes. Very nice hotel for bike tours

Mr. Mark Boulton - 14th June, 2016
Verified Review

male traveller
2 nights stay in a double room with en suite bathroom, room was clean, bed was comfortable with quality linen, bathroom was spotless, shower could do with an upgrade.
Food was reasonably priced, menu with a good choice of food and well presented.Breakfast was also with a good choice of menu.
Would recommend and stay again if occasion arose.

Mr. stephen clarke - 9th June, 2016
Verified Review

5pm
Nice clean hotel..friendly staff
.tho I feel for 100 quid for the night for a twin room with external bathroom breahfast could be included.

Stuart Barriskell - 6th June, 2016
Verified Review

Lovely location
We only stayed one night and wish we could have stayed longer. Lovely clean rooms and very friendly staff. We stay again.

Julie Ferguson - 6th June, 2016
Verified Review

Fabulous
Great stay. Staff great. Chanell reserved a table for our evening meal in the bar which we hadn\'t even asked for. Nice touch.

Mrs. ALISON HOTCHKISS - 9th May, 2016
Verified Review

stay at the argyll
excellent, friendly and helpful, 2nd stay now.

Alisdair Cook - 4th May, 2016
Verified Review

North Coast 500 April 2016
Great place to stay and good off street parking. Fabulous breakfast, great tap beers and malts a plenty. Live music was a bonus. Very accommodating hosts. Would stay again and recommend others looking for great value comfy accommodation.

Michael Copeland - 2nd May, 2016
Verified Review

Short notice stay
Traveling around Scotland needed some where for the night, Decided to book into the Argyll hotel. Glad I did room was good the view was fantastic. Breakfast was good and met the special diet that I\'m on. Staff were very welcoming and I would recommend staying here.

Bryan Lawrence - 5th April, 2016
Verified Review

Lovely Easter weekend
Lovey hotel!! Room basic but clean. Friendly busy bar. Food looked lovely but was a little disapointing. Staff were all very friendly. Dogs welcome which is a huge bonus for us. Second time staying and we would stay again

Callum Cooper - 30th March, 2016
Verified Review

Review
Very pleasant stay and staff very accommodating

Mark Staley - 1st February, 2016
Verified Review

Great Place to stay in a storm!
Recently stayed in the hotel during a storm and it was a lovely cosy place to stay and shelter! Staff really friendly and helpful too.

Catherine Maclean - 4th January, 2016
Verified Review

Brilliant
Stayed here with my fiancé as we fancied a weekend in Ullapool amazing warm welcome friendly locals warm open fire 10/ 10

Donna Wilson - 14th December, 2015
Verified Review

Good
The Dinner was very good.

Petra Jans - 27th October, 2015
Verified Review

Nice view in the room
We got a room with sea view it was very nice! Friendly staff

Sylvia Michelotto - 10th September, 2015
Verified Review

our stay
lovely hotel, room had fantastic views of the sea. we had our wee dog with us and he was made welcome.

Karen Mackenna - 31st August, 2015
Verified Review

Fun, Fun, Fun
We had a great time staying at your hotel. Although we had bunk beds in our room and it wasn\'t an en suite, we made the best of it. The bar was great, the live music was the best and the food was fantastic. I would recommend it to anybody passing through. It was an unforgettable experience. Oh, I cant forget the view. So beautiful. Thanks for the accommodations.

Patricia Kahl - 28th August, 2015
Verified Review

Cool hostel in nice place
It was a pleasant stay in this hostel. The room is very comfortable and the breakfast is delicious

Willy Barrois - 21st August, 2015
Verified Review

Excellent stay
Stayed for 1 night in room on the second floor with lovely views over loch broom. Live music from Martin Stephenson in the bar, great night. Would definitely stay again.

Mr. Brian Ritchie - 11th August, 2015
Verified Review

Friendly comfortable hotel
Very enjoyable stay, room comfortable though a little small. Scottish breakfast good. Bar very nice good entertainment.

Tony & Joanne Sloan - 11th August, 2015
Verified Review

Molto bene
Ci siamo trovati molto bene, il personale è stato molto gentile, disponibile e colloquiale.

Vincenzo La Rosa - 5th August, 2015
Verified Review

3 night stay in June 2015
Our second stay at The Argyll was as good as our first stay 3 years ago. We do appreciate the in house restaurant area upstairs as we much prefer that to eating your evening meal in the bar.Very pleased the langoustines are still a permanent feature of the evening menu. We had them every night!We find this hotel faultless. It is one of those places that has a great friendly laid back ambience which you realise is extremely efficiently run.Well done everybody at the Argyll. We would recommend to everybody that it is the best hotel to stay at in Ullapool.

Drummond Cowie - 28th July, 2015
Verified Review

Fine
Everything in order. Good sea view room

Mr Phillip Walworth - 27th July, 2015
Verified Review

Ullapool at leisure
After travelling along the North coast, it was a novelty for me to find a lively community again. Ullapool is good - visit the Summer Isles, watch seals or go to Stornoway. The hotel itself, although an older style, is fine. Room with a sea view, wifi available, comfortable and warm and with helpful staff.

Trevor Wilcock - 27th June, 2015
Verified Review

Hôtel qui peut être recommandé
Hôtel sympathique, avec jolie vue sur la baie d\'Ullapool. Peut être un peu bruyant en raison de la présence d\'un pub et des soirées organisées par l\'hôtel.

Mr. Christian MORAUX - 24th June, 2015
Verified Review

Good food, good view, good stay.
The bar was friendly as were all staff. Dinner in the restaurant was great, best fresh vegetables I ate in the 6 weeks we were in the UK. It\'s the little things! Large very well kept room with magnificent views. Ullapool in beautiful.

Mr. Garry Craven - 17th June, 2015
Verified Review

Typical English Pub
Our stay at the Argyll Hotel was great, we had a lovely room which was clean the meals were great and the staff very friendly. The hotel is close to everything and has free parking out the back. The staff even carried my bag up to our room, much appreciated.

Christopher Howe - 14th June, 2015
Verified Review

Argyll hotel review
Does what it says, couldn\'t fault

David Milligan - 25th May, 2015
Verified Review

beautifully located and with very friendly staff!
I absolutely loved people working in the hotel, they were not just friendly but also very helpful - they let us check in hours before the official check-in time and then saved our lives when we had whole day ahead of us before our bus back to Inverness and they had no problems with taking care of our backpacks while we did more hiking:) I guess the hotel may feel a bit outdated but I actually liked that side of it;) The view from our room was absolutely to die for, the only thing that could have been better was the temperature in the bathroom as it was very cold in there;)

Mrs. Joanna Czachor - 5th May, 2015
Verified Review

VISIT REVIEW
The hotel staff were pleasant, the food quality, quantity and value for money was good.
My room was comfortable, however the en suite would benefit from a deep clean especially the bath/shower tile grouting.
Unfortunately a cooked breakfast cold not be served before 0800 during the week which did not help if a business traveler required to be at an early appointment.

Stephen Clarke - 18th April, 2015
Verified Review

Great location
Great location, great food, a couple of nights we could hear people outside early hours in morning but would stay here again

Rachel Aldred - 6th April, 2015
Verified Review

Easter in Ullapool
We enjoyed our stay. Comfortable spacious room. Friendly staff. Tasty food. We\'d recommend you to friends.

Michael Brown - 2nd April, 2015
Verified Review

Great stay
We really enjoyed our comfy room on the top floor overlooking harbour, great views - and the bar with open fire. Breakfast nice, I had poached egg on smoked haddock. I would stay again.

Patricia Botten - 9th March, 2015
Verified Review

break in Ullapool
Good friendly efficient service. Good food

David Blenkinson - 12th February, 2015
Verified Review

Lovely Comfortable Stay
Warm, cosy, comfortable, friendly. Enjoyed our stay.

Miss. Gail Harding - 4th February, 2015
Verified Review

One Night Stay
we had a double room and a twin room for Granny and 5yr old. This is our 2nd stay in the Argyll which we find very relaxing, the food is excellent and the breakfast is just what you need prior to a long journey on the Ferry.

Fiona Campbell - 6th January, 2015
Verified Review

Friendly and homely
My ftiend and i stay here every january for a night they are friendly and the hotel is homely.
The bar is lovely with a real fire very cosy and known for good live music.
The bedrooms need updating a wee bit but are clean and comfy
The veiw from front bedroom windows onto the lich is gorgeous.
A good price to
Eould reccomend staying here yo everyone 😀

Ola Mckay - 4th January, 2015
Verified Review

Good value and really convenient
This is my second time at the argyll and again it was good value and ideal for catching the ferry after a long drive up. The breakfast was wonderful and I had Herring!

Luke Turner - 4th January, 2015
Verified Review

Very friendly and nice place
Well I did find this place online and was very lucky the view to the sea was beatfull and the bar amazing and very good local people @ !

Arcelo Demarques - 1st January, 2015
Verified Review

WPS Ltd
Our 2 employees enjoyed their stay at the hotel and would definitely return. Good accommodation and food.

Denise - 18th December, 2014
Verified Review

Tom andToni on tour.
Great pub, clean warm room, friendly staff.

Mr. Thomas Davies - 2nd December, 2014
Verified Review

enjoyable stay
Staff very helpful and friendly. room a wee bit tired but warm and clean, comfy bed etc. fantastic view of the loch from the window. food first class, came home a wee bit thicker round the waist.

E.welsh - 25th October, 2014
Verified Review

Excellent food
And I mean excellent! Best meal I\'ve ever had. Hand dived scallops were amazing. Room was fine with a great view over the harbour with the mountains beyond. Would definitely stay again

Mr. Andrew Mckenzie - 11th October, 2014
Verified Review

Honeymoon
We were shown to our room which was small but adequate with a superb view. The food and service was excellent. The \'boy band\' music in the bar was dreadful. We\'ll stay there again one day. Dogs welcome which impressed us.

Jonathan Brain - 8th October, 2014
Verified Review

The Argyle
A great location and beautiful view from our window! The room was a little small but fine for the one night we were there. A good pub for a pint and a nice breakfast as well. The young man at the desk was very friendly and helped us up the stairs with our suitcases. A nice spot and close to the ferry!

Lesley McPhail - 4th October, 2014
Verified Review

Excellent
The people were brilliant and my steak was spot on. Medium rare actually came out medium rare, not something that happens very often in the UK. Room very well equipped and the view was amazing.

Mrs. Jude Mcmillan - 24th September, 2014
Verified Review

Good hotel in Ullapool
We had room 14 which is the best room of the hotel: spacious and loch view. Excellent and friendly staff - good cooking - nice life music.

Dr. Cees Mulder - 16th September, 2014
Verified Review

Room with a view
Could not have asked for a better view..it was stunning.
The room had everything we needed. The only problem we had was that we could not get a signal on the television.
Breakfast was very good and the gentleman who served us was very attentive to our needs.

Evelyn Hunter - 16th August, 2014
Verified Review

Quiet little hotel
Small room, but very clean.

Antoinette Quadri - 16th August, 2014
Verified Review

Great room
Our room on the top floor of The Argyle was spacious and had fabulous views across the harbour and loch. Safe parking for the motorcycle was available and dinner in the nearby sister establishment of the Ferry Boat Inn was excellent.

Guy Sellers - 11th August, 2014
Verified Review

One night in Ullapool4
Stopped one night only. Great location and stunning views over the Loch. Did not eat so cannot comment on food, room clean and comfortable, if a little 'tired' and in need of refurb. Staff very welcoming and helpful.

Mr. Robert Bennett - 5th August, 2014
Verified Review

Nice hotel
Not too luxurious, but a nice enough hotel to stay, if you are on a Scotland tour, like us

Martinus Govaarts - 1st August, 2014
Verified Review

The Argyll Hotel
met by a pleasant, friendly guy at reception. Room comfy, clean, and well stocked. Good view and weird quaint faux Scottish décor in bar. telly gubbed.

David Mills - 18th July, 2014
Verified Review

Basic, clean pub accommodation
If you are looking for a traditional Scottish hotel then this is it...our family room was clean and basic but with everything we needed. We enjoyed dinner in the restaurant, we booked through an online agent but it might be better to deal with the hotel directly

Jodie Morgan - 15th July, 2014
Verified Review

Great Holiday
All great even the weather view from bedroom fantastic food was perfect,all staff very helpful,and the evening entertainmen was most unexpected and right up our street.

Philip Francis - 1st July, 2014
Verified Review

hotel review
We really enjoyed our overnight stay at the Argyll Hotel, before catching the ferry to Stornaway, the following morning.
The dinner and breakfast were particularly good.

Mr Paul Tomkins - 28th June, 2014
Verified Review

super place to stay
we rode up to ullapool from home in newcastle for the first night of our island hopping tour on our trusty triumph.we only stayed at the argyll for the one night but have to say we wish we could have stayed longer.we had a super room with a view over the bay,the room was lovely with all the usual things you expect but also we had a lovely sofa to sit on and a massively comfy bed.we ate in the restaurant food was brill,we forgot to fill out our breakfast booking but this wasn't a problem for the staff in the morning and we had a cracking full english to set us up for the day.ample parking round the back,2 minutes from ferry port superb location and such friendly staff had a good bit chat with the barman.lovely comfortable hotel and we will be back and will stay longer for sure,very happy

Brian Rosher - 18th June, 2014
Verified Review

Very enjoyable
A conveniently located hotel with a well stocked bar and a varied food menu.
The staff are very friendly, warm and obliging.
Rooms are a rather small.

Alan Bentham - 14th June, 2014
Verified Review

Indispenable
A faire - Chambre calme avec un pub animé et un bonne table dans le restaurant. Superbe souvenir.

Christine Lavenu - 10th June, 2014
Verified Review

A good evening
Very good welcome.
A little bit disapointed by the bathroom out-of the bedroom, but the evening concert was a great moment, great emotion.

JEAN-FRANCOIS RAYNAUD - 9th May, 2014
Verified Review

Anniversary Trip
This Hotel has an ideal location. Friendly staff and nice clean comfortable rooms with a good atmosphere in the lounge in the evening. Definitely worth a visit.

Paul Rainey - 6th May, 2014
Verified Review

argyll hotel
We recently had a pleasant stay at the argyll our room 14 had the most amazing view across loch broome, friendly staff and bar with great choice of beers and cider

Paul Chilcott - 20th April, 2014
Verified Review

satisfied guest
great place to stay, good staff, excellent choice of food & drink,decent rate & first class breakfast

Mr Wilson - 19th March, 2014
Verified Review

Mr
Very welcoming hotel. Must be the best in Ullapool. The staff and owners were extremely courteous and hospitable.

Geoffrey Bromige - 10th March, 2014
Verified Review

Trip to see Grandma
Enjoyed a 2 night stay at the Argyll hotel after a 400 mile drive.
Had a lovely family meal there on Saturday night and then sampled a few too many in the well stocked bar.
Kids joined us for breakfast on the last morning which set us up well for the return leg of the trip

Simon Burnett - 17th February, 2014
Verified Review

Recommended
Very comfortable and nicely furnished room. Staff very helpful and friendly, breakfast very nice. Highly recommended and we will definitely return.

Andy Cooper - 16th February, 2014
Verified Review

January stay
Good fire, food and drink, comfy bed, nice linen and toiletries, great view in the morning and very friendly, especially towards my Maggie dog.

Pauline Randell - 12th January, 2014
Verified Review

One nighter
Had a fab night with great food and a huge amount of excellent whiskey.
Staff very friendly and accomodating and loaded with local information.

David Whitlow - 10th December, 2013
Verified Review

Seaview
A good room, exellent bed, and a fine view.

Mr. Curt Asklund - 7th November, 2013
Verified Review

A Surprise
lovely friendly place, music obviously a passion :) Pub was great, served best variety of whisky which was enhanced by the barman's personal experience and his enthusiasm. (that was dad serving us) Evening meal was good, the wine was excellent. Such a surprise in a small village in the Highlands! However,I'm never ever going to eat smoked haddock anywhere else but Ullapool. It was simply the best breakfast experience I've had in 57 years.
Accomodation was clean and comfortable and nobody could complain about the wonderful view over the harbour.

Ms. Lisa Beasant - 1st November, 2013
Verified Review

Lovely stay
A most pleasant stay a the Argyll Hotel once again
Wonderful food, hospitality and set in a beautiful location
We hope to be back for our fourth stay in the not too distant future

Mr. Steven Webster - 31st October, 2013
Verified Review

Very enjoyable
My wife and myself spent one night here, a nice hotel in a beautiful village, friendly helpful staff, slightly dated (full of character) and very clean. Lovely sea view from the room, would stay again.

David Yates - 14th October, 2013
Verified Review

October 2013
Excellent food, friendly staff, cosy room, highly recommended.

Mr. John Loughran - 13th October, 2013
Verified Review

Perfect stay
Before boarding Cal Mac on Saturday 20/07 we stayed Friday 19/07 in Argyll Hotel. Location perfect, room very comfortable, staff very helpful and efficient. Dinner on Friday pm was so good, we loved it. Breakfast Saturday am very good and great start to the day. This hotel for us was very very good and we would highly recommend it for the perfect stay.

Dr. Moira Brown - 31st July, 2013
Verified Review

lovely place to stay
My partner and I were on a long weekend biking trip. The Argyle was an ideal places to stop for a couple of nights. We ended up in a larger room with some lovely views of the bay. Food was excellent. The bed was nice and comfortable, the bathroom was a bit shabby. Cleanliness wasn't the best, there was quite alot of dust. On the whole we had a lovely couple of days.

Miss. Rachel Thompson - 9th July, 2013
Verified Review

Excellent Service
Had a lovely stay in the hotel. We were made to feel very welcome despite having 2 dogs with us and Richard was an excellent host.Had a really nice meal and will hopefully return in the near future.

Louise Freeth - 1st July, 2013
Verified Review

D.Vann
Excellent hotel, friendly staff. Have stayed before and will do in future.

Mr. Donald Vann - 29th June, 2013
Verified Review

One night stay in May 2013
Lovely visit, good room with beautiful view, excellent food for dinner and breakfast. Good having car park at rear of Hotel.

Mr. Keith Visser - 29th May, 2013
Verified Review

Argyll Hotel
A 'Feel at home' hotel with caring staff, excellent food and a good bar - something for everyone!

Mr. Iain Campbell - 14th May, 2013
Verified Review

Satisfied
We were made welcome and the staff were extremely courteous and helpful. I would certainly come again and would recommend friends as well.

Mr. Ian Bell - 13th May, 2013
Verified Review

Great stay at the Argyll
A warm welcome,fantastic views from our room, delicious food both at breakfast and dinner. In the centre of Feis activity yet we had a peaceful sleep. A wonderful break which we hope to repeat.

Mrs Catherine Crawford - 9th May, 2013
Verified Review

Nice hotel - Restaurant can do better
The hotel is very nice, pleasely located in Ullapull with a good view on the loch. The rooms are well furnished, thougth a bit small.
The restaurant is good, but the service was really too long, and most of the day dishes were no more available at 8pm already.
It is a good adress however, with a good quality/price ratio.

Mr. Bastien Tranquart - 8th May, 2013
Verified Review

Thank you
Thank you very much for your service and accomodation. Everything was wonderful and nicely.

Mrs. Olga Ivashina - 6th May, 2013
Verified Review

Very comfortable
Comfortable room and professionaly presented. Very homely and staff were courtious and attentive. stunning view over Loch Broom. Liked the straightforward on line booking and particularly the sensible cancellation policy. We'll be back.

Mr. Douglas Mackay - 4th May, 2013
Verified Review

Great for short stay
Comfortable, well-located hotel. Friendly, helpful staff. Only criticism is the bathroom in our room was a bit dated.

Mr. Alison Withrington - 22nd April, 2013
Verified Review

Argyll
Stayed for one night. Room was comfortable but bathroom in need of upgrade. Bar was welcoming and patrons friendly.
Food was excellent and the staff were always helpful and friendly. Would stay here again.

Mr. Tom Toner - 3rd April, 2013
Verified Review

Great overnight stop
Really good overnight stop before the ferry to Stornoway the following day.
Food excellent and room very well furnished

Mr. Oliver Burns - 7th March, 2013
Verified Review

The Argyll
Had a great second stay at the Argyll Hotel. Travelled up from Glasgow on a business trip on the Tuesday and stayed over till the Thursday. You will get a very warm welcome from the staff on your arrival and the famous Highland hospitality wont finish till you leave. Will deffinately be coming back again.

Mr. Euan Blair - 15th February, 2013
Verified Review

Good food and good service
We stayed at the Argyll on our way to a holiday in the Hebrides but had the misfortune to encounter a raging gale in Ullapool and no ferry sailings. The bar in the argyll had a lovely log fire and some great food. The lamb shank was delicious. Staff were really helpful and welcoming.

Mrs. Maureen Telfer - 23rd January, 2013
Verified Review

Enjoyable Stay
Stay was very enjoyable and the staff very helpful and friendly. Bar area was excellent, meal excellent and rooms also excellent. Everything looks new and therefore clean. From check in to check out looked after extremely well.

Mr. Alastair Skelton - 11th January, 2013
Verified Review

Wonderful stay
We stayed in the large family room with King-size bed, bunk beds and a travel cot. The room was large, clean, and comfy. The pub and breakfast served great food and were clean, modern, and homely, and the staff were incredibly friendly and helpful throughout our stay. We will definitely book The Argyll for our next trip to Ulapool.

Daniel Goldthorp - 8th January, 2013
Verified Review

Perfect
Awesome place... great hotel and very nice staff !!!

Miss. Ewa Kuc - 8th January, 2013
Verified Review

A great winter break in Ullapool
We stayed three nights at the end of November/beginning of December. The hotel was quiet and just emerging from some major bar refurbishment, but we were made very welcome. A room on the top floor had a fabulous view over the Loch and ferry teminal. Bed was especially warm and comfortable. Food, especially breakfast, at the hotel, was excellent, all locally sourced and/or organic. The weather was beautiful even though the days were short. Definitely a place to visit off season if you get the chance.

Mr Trevor Roberts - 11th December, 2012
Verified Review

VERY GOOD HOTEL
We spent 2 nights in the Argyll Hotel. The room (11)was clean and well equipped and had a stunning view over Loch Broom to the mountains. We had 2 dinners and they were both of a very high standard including a delicious steak. Breakfast was also excellent with a wide range of freshly cooked options. All the staff were friendly and helpful and we will certainly stay here again when in Ullapool. Thank you to all.

Alison Napier - 5th November, 2012
Verified Review

Great Place!
I stayed here for seven days last week while hiking around Ullapool and can't say enough good things. The room was basic, clean, comfy (especially the bed and pillows) and a good bargain. Breakfasts and dinners were fabulous. The best part is the cozy pub downstairs - always a fire going and quiet spots to read. It is also quite the local hub - with music, quiz night and people to chat with. The staff and owner are all very friendly and make the Argyle a lovely place to stay.

Ms. Caitlin Fitzgerald - 29th October, 2012
Verified Review

Argyll Hotel
Nice hotel with very friendly staff, great view from room & lovely breakfasts.

Star rating isn`t working ... it`s a 3 from me!***

Mrs. Sheila Calder - 27th October, 2012
Verified Review

A gem!
I cannot praise this hotel & it's staff highly enough. If you want somewhere to stay in Ullapool, stay here. Good food, lovely bar,comfy beds,attentive staff and in the centre of town.

Mr. James Pooley - 14th October, 2012
Verified Review

Great Breakfast
We only stayed at the Argyll Hotel for one night, but it was perfectly fine for what we needed for a short stay. The hotel and rooms would benefit from a little updating, but the rooms were clean and quiet. The water pressure was great in the shower and we were happy that the TV had a DVD player. The absolute best part about our stay was the yummy breakfast - I especially enjoyed the homemade muesli.

Ms. Patricia Macpherson - 12th October, 2012
Verified Review

Argyll Hotel Ullapool
A warm friendly establishment where we were made welcome. The 'curry night' in the dining room was first class and we both thoroughly enjoyed it. I would go back to the Argyll in the future.

Angus Boag - 12th October, 2012
Verified Review

Hotel review
Very friendly, helpful staff. Room fine although a bit on the small side for two people. Shower in bath which is a pet hate of mine and no anti slip mat. Enjoyed our stay.

Alan Woods - 8th October, 2012
Verified Review

Very good
Nice comfy bed, slept like a log

Mr Logan - 6th October, 2012
Verified Review

Sept Break
Expectations excceded and will return next year.

Highlights included:

* Attentive and relaxed manner of our hosts
* Quality of breakfasts and selection on offer. It was a nice and unexpected touch having hot pastries
* Evening meals well prepared and quality of ingredients high
* An "old" style bar which was well attended in the evenings with live music both Fri & Sat
* Accomodation was clean and comfortable. Linen & matteresses all appeared to be new and of high quality.

Very limited choice of food in the bar area and if this could be improved would give 5 stars on a quality / cost / facilities basis.

Mr. James Gray - 3rd October, 2012
Verified Review

Nice staff Good pub
Very nice staff, good food and an excellent, entertaining pub are the positives. The shower room looking a bit tired was the only (slight) negative.

Mr David Wells - 25th September, 2012
Verified Review

Great Stay
Booked two rooms with the Argyll Hotel for September 2012. Owner was most gracious and rooms were very clean and the beds were amazing. Beautiful view over the bay. Great, super, Awesome pub down below. Would recommend it to anyone.

Mr. Marlin Price - 25th September, 2012
Verified Review

Argyll Hotel Sept. 2012
Clean and simply furnished room was fine. Breakfast pretty good too. A bit of noise from the bar below but not too bad.

Mr. James Kerr - 10th September, 2012
Verified Review

Overlooking Loch Broom
All the staff that we meet at the Argyll Hotel were welcoming and helpful. Our room, although on the small side, had a lovely view over Loch Broom, and a good bathroom. Our hospitality tray in the room contained biscuits and fresh fruit. The buffet part of breakfast had a good selection of cereals including a lovely homemade muesli, fruit, little danish pastries, yogurts. The cooked breakfast was nicely cooked and the toast was from bread from the local bakery. Although there was live music in the bar that evening we were not disturbed by any noise and would certainly stay here again.

Mrs Bruce - 7th September, 2012
Verified Review

Grumpy waitress
We have just returned from a wonderful tour of NE Scotland and spent 2 nights at the Argyll Hotel all of us were really happy with the experience including our dinner on the last night;sadly this was all spoilt by the attitude of our waitress at breakfast on the last morning everything was too much trouble even challenging us when we asked for a sugar bowl for the table, she did not clear plates after our cereal course until asked and was generally rude.
Aside from this I would happily award 4 stars.

Mrs. Pauline Mccormick - 4th September, 2012
Verified Review

Overnight stay
website gave false impression of hotel. Hotel was tired, room ensuite tired and luggage movement from car park at rear up narrow stairs was poor. Food ok and reasonable value. Should have guessed it may not meet our standards when they asked for payment up front on booking. Not much else accommodation in Ullapool though

Mr. Philip Johnson - 1st September, 2012
Verified Review

A Real Pleasure
We spent a most enjoyable 3 nights at this hotel. Our room at the front had a beautiful view across Loch Broom & the room itself was spacious with plentiful hanging & storage space. The 3 dinners we had in the pleasant restaurant were all very good. The bar, where there is often live music,is frequented by locals as well as guests so there is an opportunity to mingle. Out front there are tables & chairs for al fresco drinking & eating. The atmosphere is friendly & relaxed.

Mr Cowie - 27th August, 2012
Verified Review

Lovely stay - thanks
Great place to stay. Made very welcome and food was excellent. Children given special treat of hot chocolate & marshmallows at breakfast - would recommend this hotel to anyone!

Mrs. Amanda Wasilewski - 21st August, 2012
Verified Review

Good hospitality and location
Very good hospitality. Nice evening with music band. Goog situation. Thank you.

Mr. Lanaud Christophe - 6th August, 2012
Verified Review

Short Break
Good food, great staff & a lovely friendly pub downstairs. Restaurant meeal was lovely & the breakfast was very good. Views of the loch are spectacular from the front facing rooms although the stairs may pose a challenge for some. Rooms are fairly small but had plenty of room for us & our medium sized dog.

Mrs. Kim Mills - 5th August, 2012
Verified Review

Holidays
Room a little bit small. Very good food at our taste. Good organization by "the lady with red hair" ! Very good music at the pub

Mrs Bernadette Boulle - 30th July, 2012
Verified Review

Ullapool wedding
Great hotel. Staff were wonderful and very accommodating especially regarding the wedding meal. Food also excellent. Thanks guys! Hopefully stay again next year.

Ms. Sally Duffy - 12th July, 2012
Verified Review

Wanted to stay longer
What a fun place. Room had beautiful waterfront view; comfy bed, clean room. Had an older beach cabin style, which fit the local area. Local musicians playing in the evening made it a most enjoyable stay!

Mr. Richard Gleckler - 30th June, 2012
Verified Review

ARGYLL HOTEL
WE ENJOYED OUR SHORT STAY AT THE ARGYLL. A PLEASANT VIEW FROM OUR ROOM ONTO THE BAY.

Mr. Bruce Casselden - 29th June, 2012
Verified Review

Ullapool
Excellent experience waking up seeing the loch under different weather conditions each morning. The hotel is run by a charming couple who try to make you as comfortable as possible. Excellent value for money and a good choice for your holiday.

Mr George Flannigan - 21st June, 2012
Verified Review

Motorcycles at the Argyll
We were made to feel very welcome. The room was quite small for 3 and not en-suite. None of these issues caused a problem. The bar had a nice atmosphere and Saturday night's entertainment was great. Many thanks

Steven Davies - 13th June, 2012
Verified Review

one night stopover
Great night in the Argyll, very welcoming to us and dog, comfy room shower not so good. Music and beer excellent

Margaret Cran - 28th May, 2012
Verified Review

May 2012
Four of us have just spent a week travelling around Scotland and would happily recommend this Hotel .
We received a very warm welcome , we felt our custom was appreciated everyone was friendly , the room was great value for money and had a lovely view , entertainment at night was very good and the locals very nice
we ate at the Hotel and the food was excellent , good location , breakfast good
We would certainly return

Jane Bailey - 26th May, 2012
Verified Review

Not so cheap
At time of booking the only room available was a family room, this would be suitable for a couple with young children.

In my opinion the room was clean and comfortable, however, for the cost of the room I would have expected a slightly higher standard.

The staff were corteous and accomodating as I asked for room service so I could work in the evening, which they gladly arranged.

The food was very good and would recommend the venison burger with home made chips!

Angela Keddie - 18th May, 2012
Verified Review

Argyll's the place in Ullapool
Superb food, impressive customer service and views to die for, what else would you need?
Oh, and mingling with locals at the downstairs pub;)

Isabelle Girard - 15th May, 2012
Verified Review

Lovely stay!
Highly recommended!

Maria Kusnir - 30th April, 2012
Verified Review

Great place to stay
Lovely room, great food, great atmosphere - lively bar full of locals with a regular live music scene, but completely peaceful in our upstairs room. Great food and very friendly, relaxed service. Would recommend.

Mike Hamilton - 16th April, 2012
Verified Review

Easter Weekend
This is a comfortable small hotel with helpful staff. On some evenings there is live music, mainly traditional Scottish music and the bar is very busy on those evenings, so it is advisable to book a table if you want to eat in. We thought it might be a bit nosiy but we couldn't hear the bar at all from our room. Food is excellent. We had a good view over Loch Broom from our room and the hotel is ideally place for local amenities. Our bathroom was clearly in the process of redecoration and once this is finished, and a shelf put in for guests' toilitries, it will be very good indeed. We also appreciated the apples and bottled water as well as the usual tea, coffee and biscuits. We enjoyed our stay and would be happy to stay there again.

Mrs Kathleen Sturgeon - 14th April, 2012
Verified Review

Highland hospitality
Lovely place and we were treated well. Only slight moan was comp tea & coffee not replenished

Dr. Angus Whyte - 14th April, 2012
Verified Review

Nice stay
Basic, good sized family room, perfect sleeping ( excellent quality beds, pillows and duvet,warm and comfortable ). Nice bat brook with all needed (soap shampoo hand lotion ) Excellent breakfast and dinner we enjoyed our stay

Mrs. Sandra Grometto - 10th April, 2012
Verified Review

Basic
Just a really basic hotel, clean enough and friendly but old fashioned accommodation with the bathroom across the hall which was again very very basic. Good if you are on a budget but not for anyone looking for a degree of luxury. 2 out of 5 but pressed wrong star by mistake!

Richard Potts - 8th April, 2012
Verified Review

Argyll Hotel
Very friendly staff and great bar area, where we could take the dog, with good food at a reaaonable price. The rooms and bathrooms however are in need of some up-dating and considering the price the rooms cost, we would have expected much better quality. The staff and dog friendly atmosphere did make up for this though.

Mrs. Lisa Albarracin - 7th April, 2012
Verified Review

WILL STAY AGAIN
friendly atmosphere,friendly patrons,spectacular views and the food was great...only one drawback was a lousy shower

Mr. Daniel Mckeown - 5th April, 2012
Verified Review

3 nights
I booked this hotel because of the location and the promise of real ale after a days walking and was not disappointed,The food was good and the bar had a nice atmosphere.My room was clean and pleasant to come back to.

Mr. George Corner - 1st April, 2012
Verified Review

Harris excursion by reds
Great experience and hospitality - Nigel was a positive and natural host as were the staff. thanks and see you again - happy trails jj

John Williams - 1st April, 2012
Verified Review

The hotel was really good. Food was nice. I really enjoyed my stay and would stay there again

Alan Derbyshire - 29th March, 2012
Verified Review

argyll
warm welcome, accomodation as described, many thanks

Mrs Jannette Hutchison - 27th February, 2012
Verified Review

Top notch
I only stayed for one night while waiting for the morning ferry but I would definitely stay again. It was a lovely clean room, a good breakfast and the staff were helpful and very friendly.

Adam Eborall - 18th February, 2012
Verified Review

Warm welcome
We had a warm welcome from staff on a chilly weekend. All the staff were help. The bar was an excellent place and a hub of the town and a good place to watch the 6 nations rugby with friendly local folk. Bed was very comfortable but bathroom could be spruced up. Great views out over the water.

Mr. Owen Ingram - 7th February, 2012
Verified Review

.
We were delighted with our two night stay on our wedding weekend, from the complimentary bottle of wine to the offer to use a room even after we had checked out as we had to wait for the ferry later that day. The bedroom was fine and the food was excellent. We would certainly use the hotel again.

Mr Alex Macdonald - 20th December, 2011
Verified Review

RECOMMENDED
We were looking for a place to lay our heads while en route elsewhere - delighted to have found the Argyll Hotel! The comfiest bed ever, clean and fresh rooms, friendly welcome and banter in the lounge bar, excellent bar and breakfast menus and fabulous food by the open fire. Perfect!

Mrs. Cristina Morrison - 14th December, 2011
Verified Review

Highly recommended
Great relaxed atmosphere. Very dog friendly. Good food in restaurant and excellent breakfasts. Will be returning.

Mr. Peter O\'keefe - 27th November, 2011
Verified Review

A nice place o stay
Very friendly owner.
the only thing which can be improved are the shower (low water pressure) & the windows (there was almost no coverage of the noise from the street & the wind)
But all in all a recommendable hotel

Mr. Harald Knickel - 5th October, 2011
Verified Review

great stay
Had a great stay at Argyll. Room cosy and clean, food in bar excellent value and the quiz night was the icing on the cake.

Mr. Steve Thomason - 17th September, 2011
Verified Review